Skip to content

Creative Thread/Fiber Art

August 27, 2009

IMG_2598_displayToday we’re featuring some unique thread art from “Creative Chick.”  Yes, as you can see from her name, how could we resist highlighting her here in “creative chick heaven?”  In Susan Sorrell’s own words (artist of “Creative Chick“), she is a “southern fried fiber artist.”  She also teaches fiber art classes.

I love art that takes your breath away.  While my style is mostly traditional, I love to throw some abstract art into the mix.  When I saw Susan’s work, it drew me in immediately with all the vibrant colors, patterns & textures.

I quickly threw a room design together so you could see how I would envision using her artwork in a traditional-style home.

funkyartroom

This was the best I could quickly find online to represent what I would envision.  I’d most likely find some really chunky black studio frames to use, but you get the idea with the black frames in this photo.  I also had to liven up the decor a little bit with adding this beautiful throw pillow, Cotton Pop, from Cotton Colors.

house-cropped_badge

Isn’t Creative Chick‘s fiber art fun & lively?!  It would brighten my day, every day, to see something like this in living room.

One Comment leave one →
  1. cindratee permalink
    September 4, 2009 8:46 pm

    I am a long standing fan of Susan’s and have even taken a couple of her courses. They were fabulous, by the way. If you think her work looks fabulous in your photo, it’s even better in person… you always discover something new.

    I love how you put the room together… photoshop?

Leave a Reply

